Prof Qoumrul Hoque School of Education

University of Science & Technology, Meghalaya

Recognized by NCTE, REC, Bhubaneswar

An error occurred.
An error occurred.

AIU East Zone Inter University Chess Tournament Kicked Off at USTM

9th Mile, Khanapara, Ri Bhoi, January 3, 2024: The AIU East Zone Inter University Chess Tournament- 2023-24 (Men and Women) has begun today at the University of Science and Technology Meghalaya (USTM). USTM has organized these zonal-level tournaments under the aegis of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), New Delhi. A considerable number of universities under the East zone have registered for participation in this tournament. The tournament will continue till 11th January 2024.

As a part of this tournament, more than 30 universities have registered along with their managers and coaches. The tournament is being judged by five arbiters, namely, Biswajit Bharadwaj as Chief Arbiter, Monimala Sinha (both are international arbiters), Golap Chandra Gogoi, Homen Chandra Rabha and Paresh Rajbongshi.

The AIU and USTM flags were hoisted by Dr Balendra Kumar Das, Pro Vice Chancellor of USTM, Dr RK Sharma, Advisor, USTM, and the others present. Dr BK Das and Dr R K Sharma also felicitated the arbiters of the tournament.

Dr Balendra Kumar Das extended the welcome speech during the inaugural session. He said that the University is organizing such big events to provide a platform for the youth of the country in sports along with academics. USTM always encourages sports because this is an area that enriches unity, peace, and harmony among the people of the country and globally.

The women’s matches will be held from 3rd to 6th January. This will be followed by the men’s matches from 8th to 11th January 2024. Some of the participating universities in this most significant inter-university event include Jadavpur University, Chhattisgarh Swami Vivekananda Technical University, M.G.K.V.P. University, M.S.C.B. University, Berhampur University, Calcutta University, KIIT University, S.M.K.V., University of Burdwan, Adamas University, Manipur University and Banaras Hindu University.

More Events and Activities